Home

[Originally posted in guitar4christ forum on 6 Mar 2008 (http://www.guitar4christ.com/index.php?option=com_jfusion&Itemid=24&jfile=viewtopic.php&f=6&t=19452)]

2312788728_1139b89d26

The Jetter Gainstage Gold (GSG) is certainly a much gainier OD/distortion than the Gainstage Red, but still keeping very much within the dxmble-style OD realm (though since i’ve never really played a dxmble, i can’t comment definitively on that). The GSB is really much more of a fuzzy distortion, and clearly falls into the marshall end of things. The Lovepedal Eternity (E) is way more saturated than the GSG, but at the expense of some clarity and string-to-string definition overall. Still it packs heaps of output, gain and treble which makes it great for those leads and fills that need to jump out.

The GSG is plenty dark, and I need to crank the tone past 3 o’clock to get it anywhere near the kind of high end sparkle I can get from the GSB at 12 o’clock or the E at 8 o clock (though the E’s glass/tone control is an entirely different beast).

One thing that struck me is how much my ears had to adapt to the pedal’s harmonic content. It took me about 30 minutes of playing to start to get used to the way the pedal sounded. Initially, compared to the E the GSG sounded like it had less bass – but after some time I realised that the GSG actually had a much wider frequency response, and was producing bass freqs that the E wasn’t. Its also a lot more even across the frequency spectrum, except at the high end which as I mentioned earlier is somewhat darker.

Also as I mentioned earlier the GSG has much better string-to-string definition, as compared to the E and arguably the Gainstage Blue (when its on its full-tilt face-ripping distortion setting). Definitely a much better pedal for rhythm and jangly chord work.

Like the GSB, the GSG is very touch-sensitive, very dynamic. I know a lot of pedals make that claim and I’ve tried such pedals – believe me Jetter takes that dynamic pedal concept and brings it to the next level. I can change the amount of gain I’m putting out simply by changing the way I pick – I can fingerpick clean-ish passages then bring out my pick and bash out overdriven rhythms. These pedals really respond to my playing dynamics very well, and I’m finding myself playing a bit differently to take advantage / accomodate this characteristic. Some pedals like the E do clean up nicely when you roll down the volume knob, but they don’t respond as well to picking dynamics as the Jetters do – though the GS Blue still tops the heap in terms of overall dynamic sensitivity as compared to the other GS pedals.

[2013 Update] – I sold the GSG a few years ago, after completely changing the way I use amps. I still miss that pedal though, and I do wish I didn’t sell it off. Sure could use it on my pedalboard now!

Leave a Reply

