Home

This is a stub of an article I wrote for jackisnotdull.com – and was a catalyst for pushing me to think about starting to blog again. The review was originally posted on jackisnotdull.com.

Westvleteren 12:

The Greatest Beer on Earth

As someone known for being fussy about beer, you could say I know my lagers from my lambics. So it might surprise you that one way to stump me whilst I’m pontificating about the beauty of a well-constructed craft beer would be to ask the question: “So what’s the best beer in the world?”. I would probably have responded in one of the following three ways:

(1) Waffle my way out by claiming that there is no such thing because there is no basis for comparison between the diverse and myriad styles of beer;

(2) Divert the question by naming my desert-island top 10 beers; or

(3) Just look at you really long and hard to try and make you feel very uncomfortable and a bit daft

Sadly, victims of my beer-proselytising no longer have such an avenue of escape now, for I have tasted heaven (or its closest earthly liquid equivalence), and can now tell you with some measure of experience and authority that the best – no, greatest beer in the world is the Trappist Westvleteren 12, brewed by the monks of the Sint Sixtus abbey in Westvleteren, Belgium. Read more…

Leave a Reply

