Home

Like many parents, one of the ways I try to entertain my daughter is by making strange noises. Of course, being a musician, I just have to make it musical in some way. I used to get a quick chuckle out of her by doing my best beatboxing (which isn’t very good at all), or by teaching her double pedal bass drum technique by letting her step on my belly.

This evening, whilst trying to coax her to eat another mouthful of the lovely porridge that she just loves to hate, I ended up making random rhythmic sounds, and ended up doing a faux konnakol rhythm. Which reminded me of this konnakol battle (ok, I know that’s not what’s its called but it sure sounds cool) between Zakir Hussain and V Selvaganesh, as a preface to a fantastic Remember Shakti song, which also features John McLaughlin cutting heads with mandolin master U Shrinivas. Check it out here:

Ah, I should only hope that my daughter will grow up to be as talented. And not end up a boring ol’ paper-pusher like her old man.

As a random side note, John McLaughlin makes so much more sense after listening to and appreciating classical Indian music.

Leave a Reply

